Clay Township Fire Dept.

Harsens Island

Clay Township
Fire Department

Harsens Island

254 LaCroix

Harsens Island, MI

Close
Get Directions
'; ';
Options hide options
Print Reset
Fetching directions...

Clay Township Fire Department Harsens Island

The Carpenter’s Wheel was chosen for the Harsens Island block to best showcase the fire department’s Maltese Cross. The black, red, and silver used on the block represents the colors that are used on the Clay Twp. Fire Dept. Equipment.  The block was painted by Liz’s Barn Quilts.

The Harsens Island Fire Department’s first fire station was built in 1939 at 3058 South Channel Dr. The station was used for many years to provide fire and rescue services to the residents and visitors to the island.  As time went by, the fire department started to grow in personnel and equipment. In 1979 the Harsens Island Fire Department built a new station located at 254 Lacroix Dr., from which they currently respond.  The department started out with volunteers and now the department is manned 24-7 with personnel and responds to over 400 calls a year.  

Between the fire stations on the mainland and Harsens Island, there currently  are four engines, one fireboat, one rescue boat, one airboat, a side by side, two personal water crafts, and thirty personnel.

For more information visit:

https://www.claytownship.org/departments/fire_dept.php

Fire station

In 1979 the Harsens Island Fire Department built a new station located at 254 Lacroix Dr.

Historic site

The historic fire department is currently the Harsens Island St. Clair Flats Historical museum.

Fire Engine

Harsens Island, Station 2 Fire Engine.